This is why I run

I started running in college. My Mum had been running for quite a few years, after deciding to run her first marathon after never running in her life. I started as a way to stay active and get away from the books and computer, one hour in my day that was literally only mine.

I ran my first 10K run on a break from school. It was the Stampede 10K, and I got to see my home town in a way I’d never seen before. Something about running through familiar streets while getting cheered on by strangers takes your mind off you aching legs and actually look around.

First half marathon was the Healdsburg Wine Country Half, and took me through vinyards as the sun crested over the Sonoma horizon. I was (rather greedily) sucking in air that smelled of fermenting Zinfandel and morning dew, and as I hobbled over the finish line, they handed me a glass for the post-race tasting. Rolling hills and giggly runners accompanied my glass of Sauv Blanc and ice packs on my knees.

Second half, the U.S. “Other” Half Marathon, took me from just beyond my apartment to Ghiradelli Square, to run a route I did most Sundays. Out past Fort Mason, through Crissy Field, over the Golden Gate Bridge, and back. It was chilly, and the stiff breeze over the bridge enveloped me in icy fog. By the time I hit mile 10, my knee was screaming, the clouds had descended, and rain was pushing me back. I sprinted the last 2 miles, and happily gulped back the beer-in-a-waterbottle handed to me aftterwards.

I worked late tonight. The shot above was taken from my iPhone just after looping back near AT&T Park. They’re setting up for this week’s Giants game and the Bay Bridge looked extra glamorous. I snapped this and continued running in the chilly late October night.

